Mérouane DEBBAH

CentraleSupelec Plateau de Moulon 3 rue Joliot-Curie Bureau 5-24 91192 GIF SUR YVETTE CEDEX France
Phone Number: 
+33 (0) 1 69 85 14 47
Fax Number: 
+33 (0) 1 69 85 14 59
Web Site: 

Mérouane Debbah entered the Ecole Normale Supérieure Paris-Saclay (France) in 1996 where he received his M.Sc and Ph.D. degrees respectively. He worked for Motorola Labs (Saclay, France) from 1999-2002 and the Vienna Research Center for Telecommunications (Vienna, Austria) until 2003. From 2003 to 2007, he joined the Mobile Communications department of the Institut Eurecom (Sophia Antipolis, France) as an Assistant Professor. Since 2007, he is a Full Professor at CentraleSupelec (Gif-sur-Yvette, France). From 2007 to 2014, he was the director of the Alcatel-Lucent Chair on Flexible Radio. Since 2014, he is Vice-President of the Huawei France R&D center and director of the Mathematical and Algorithmic Sciences Lab. His research interests lie in fundamental mathematics, algorithms, statistics, information & communication sciences research. He is an Associate Editor in Chief of the journal Random Matrix: Theory and Applications and was an associate and senior area editor for IEEE Transactions on Signal Processing respectively in 2011-2013 and 2013-2014. Mérouane Debbah is a recipient of the ERC grant MORE (Advanced Mathematical Tools for Complex Network Engineering). He is a IEEE Fellow, a WWRF Fellow and a member of the academic senate of Paris-Saclay. He has managed 8 EU projects and more than 24 national and international projects. He received 17 best paper awards, among which the 2007 IEEE GLOBECOM best paper award, the Wi-Opt 2009 best paper award, the 2010 Newcom++ best paper award, the WUN CogCom Best Paper 2012 and 2013 Award, the 2014 WCNC best paper award, the 2015 ICC best paper award, the 2015 IEEE Communications Society Leonard G. Abraham Prize, the 2015 IEEE Communications Society Fred W. Ellersick Prize, the 2016 IEEE Communications Society Best Tutorial paper award, the 2016 European Wireless Best Paper Award and the 2017 Eurasip Best Paper Award as well as the Valuetools 2007, Valuetools 2008, CrownCom2009, Valuetools 2012 and SAM 2014 best student paper awards. He is the recipient of the Mario Boella award in 2005, the IEEE Glavieux Prize Award in 2011 and the Qualcomm Innovation Prize Award in 2012. He is the co-founder of Ximinds and Ulanta.

Research Topics: 
  • Cognitive Radio, Resource Allocation, Optimization Theory Game theory
  • Random Matrix Theory, Free Probability Theory
  • Statistical Inference, Maximum Entropy principles, Modelling
  • 5G and beyond 5G networks
  • Physical Layer security.
  • Publications (16 Best paper Awards): 10 patents, 1 book (Cambridge University Press), 23 book chapters, 150 Journal papers, 340 conference papers
  • Supervisor of 30 Phd students and 13 Post-docs

All the publications are available here: http://www.laneas.com/publications

Awards and Recognitions

  • WWRF Fellow;
  • IEEE Fellow
  • "Mario Boella" Prize Award in 2005;
  • IEEE GlobeCom 2007 best paper award;
  • Best student paper award at Valuetools 2007;
  • Best student paper award at Valuetools 2008;
  • Best paper award at Wi-Opt 2009;
  • Best student paper award at CrownCom 2009;
  • Newcom++ Best Paper Award in 2010;
  • IEEE/SEE Glavieux Prize Award in 2011;
  • Best Student Paper Award Final of the 2011 Asilomar Conference
  • 2012 Small Cell Forum Industry Award Finalist;
  • Best student paper award at Valuetools 2012;
  • European Research Council  Grant 2012
  • 2012 Qualcomm Innovation Prize
  • WUN CogCom Best Paper 2012 Award
  • Prize at the IEEE Australia Council Student paper competition in 2013
  • WUN CogCom Best Paper 2013 Award
  • OSEO 2013 National Prize for the OCP protocol, category: ”Création Développement”
  • 2014 WCNC Best Paper Award
  • SAM 2014 Best Student Paper Award
  • ICC 2015 Best Paper Award
  • 2015 IEEE Communications Society Leonard G. Abraham Prize
  • 2015 IEEE Communications Society Fred W. Ellersick Prize
  • 2016 IEEE Communications Society Best Tutorial Paper Award
  • European Wireless 2016 Best Paper Award